Your Real Estate Professionals In Spain
Audifans.net: Audi Forums

www.audifans.net :: View topic - 3 cylinder 600cc engine, question?

Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
View next topic
View previous topic
dolcevita4
Audi Nut

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:58 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Hi, I'm currently in my second year of studying automotive engineering, with no previous experience on engines ( the design of them at least) I was given a task and I don't know how to get my head around it so i thought that maybe some of youse with experience will give me a helping hand.

The task is to change 4 cyl Honda CBR 600RR engine into 3 cyl ( the task is to design the crankshaft and cylinders) now the cc of the engine can't be over 610cc (formula student regulations) and also the engine must be high performance.

so.. I've been working out different stroke bore ratios etc. and i came up with
bore : 72.6mm, stroke: 48.7, b/s ratio: 1.49:1, cc=605cc

those values give me quite a nice b/s ratio and also the stroke is kept short for the best torque (well i think its best to keep it short? correect me if im wrong)

Obviously the phase i'm gonna use is 120 deg, but now im not sure how many bearings and what type bearings, space between cylinders, what materials to use, how many valves per cyl, what shape pistons etc.

could anybody point me a way on how to begin that project? or anybody knows an example of similar engine to the one i need to design.

all help accepted, i'm stuck and i dont know where to go with that project.

daz-the-dogg
Camped on the site

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:52 am Reply with quote Back to top